Information: Forum is in read-only mode
For details and other support options see https://www.adiscon.com/news/support-forum-set-to-read-only-mode/

demolish the syslog system

Everything related with getting rsyslog up and running (but not beyond that point ;))

Moderator: alorbach

Google Ads

demolish the syslog system

Postby venember » Fri Nov 27, 2015 8:49 am

Hi,

I am a newbie and less than a half-guru. I have a machine on hosting. Only one. I used the syslog without problems and could manage it remotely.
The SuSE Tumbleweed upgrade (from 13.2) completely deteriorate this (and other useful stuffs) and offer an empty rsyslog structure in the machine...
I would not like to learn the whole industrial-grade sophisticated (r)syslog system.... and downgrade it to one log local system...

I would like get back my working syslog system or a simple setup for rsyslog WITHOUT remote logging... I do not want to send the log to anywhere.
Could you help me?

Thanks in advance
Michael
venember
New

Urgent Question?

• Pulling out your Hair?
  • Wasting Time and Money?
  • Deadline Approaching?

Re: demolish the syslog system

Postby dlang » Fri Nov 27, 2015 12:06 pm

rsyslog doesn't send logs anywhere by default.

why don't you start by telling us what you want to happen with the logs, what is currently happening that you don't want, and show us what your config is.

with the exception of needing to load some modules at the beginning of the config, you should be able to use the exact same config that you were using with syslog
dlang
Frequent Poster

Postby venember » Sat Nov 28, 2015 10:38 pm

I want a simple, working, logging system, which is logging from (re)start by default.