Information: Forum is in read-only mode
For details and other support options see https://www.adiscon.com/news/support-forum-set-to-read-only-mode/

Legacy Parameters StartProgram Action

Support, Questions and Discussions on MonitorWare Agent

Moderator: alorbach

Google Ads


Legacy Parameters StartProgram Action

Postby terry » Tue Oct 12, 2010 11:11 am

Hello,
we have some difficulties to add some new parameters for an action of a rule.
we made a rule for a "send trap snmpc" and we're using a start program action by running an exe which name is snmptrap.exe (from the software snmpc)

everything works well when the snmp client/server is on the same computer :
=> command to execute : c:\(...)\snmptrap.exe
=> Use legacy parameters processing : <mib_code1> <mib2_code2> <textname> "%s : %m" => in order to see an alert from a computer, in the IHM snmpc messages, <...> is a value
=> wait for completion : 10s timeout

but when we ran the snmp server on another computer (so we just have a client), if we add the parameter to specifiy the address of the server, it doesn't work :
=> command to execute : c:\(...)\snmptrap.exe
=> Use legacy parameters processing : -a 192.168.0.10 <mib_code1> <mib2_code2> <textname> "%s : %m"
=> wait for completion : 10s timeout

but, when we use it in a dos command line, it works (but we lose the possibility of %s and %m in the message...)

So it doesn't seem it's a pb from snmptrap, but maybe i made a mistake in the format inside the box "Legacy Parameters"
Do you have any idea?

Sincerely
terry
terry
New
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:21 pm

Re: Legacy Parameters StartProgram Action

Postby terry » Tue Oct 12, 2010 11:22 am

small mistake in my speech.., the use legacy parameters processing written is :
%s <mib_code1> <mib2_code2> <textname> "%s : %m"
and after :
-a 192.168.0.10 %s <mib_code1> <mib2_code2> <textname> "%s : %m"

Sincerely
terry
terry
New
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:21 pm

Re: Legacy Parameters StartProgram Action

Postby alorbach » Thu Oct 21, 2010 9:34 am

Have you tried to enable debug logging with full output? It should print the generated command. It may give a hint want is going wrong here.

best regards,
Andre Lorbach
alorbach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 11:55 am

Re: Legacy Parameters StartProgram Action

Postby terry » Wed Oct 27, 2010 2:35 pm

hello, yes we did but didn't find something really explaining the situation.
so we used the SNMP action but we need to change the translation of the message inside the snmpc ihm (not done yet...)
regards
terry
New
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:21 pm

Google Ads



Return to MonitorWare Agent

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron