Can't install on .NET server (Problem Solved)

Support, Questions and Discussions on MonitorWare Console

Moderator: alorbach

Google Ads


Can't install on .NET server (Problem Solved)

Postby tosh » Mon Apr 07, 2003 1:55 pm

Hey guys

I've reinstalled my spare machine as .Net server, and am trying to install the MWConsole...

During the install, I get a dialog that says "cannot install MDAC 2.7 - you need Windows 2000" or words to that effect.

Then the installation exits. Any chance of an update to the installation routine to get around this?

(I did eventually get the console working by using NT integrated authentication, and not SQL authentication...)

Thanks
tosh
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 3:14 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby rgerhards » Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:43 pm

Tosh,

I'll have the setup guy have a look at this. We use a standard merge module for this purpose, so it should work... and I am also pretty sure it did in our test environment (I am sure I have put the .NET server on the list of platforms to be tested ;)).

I keep you updated,
Rainer
rgerhards
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3807
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 11:57 am

Postby alorbach » Thu Apr 10, 2003 10:52 am

Hi Tosh,

any possibility to ignore the error and to continue the setup?
The Installer seems not to detect Windows .NET Server at the moment, so he tries to install some components that are already there.
alorbach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 11:55 am

Postby tosh » Fri Apr 11, 2003 1:01 pm

No, it stops...

It goes through the dotnetfx stuff fine, then it gives me the option for Monitorware Console setup type (complete/custom) - press Install - please wait... then:

MDAC 2.7 cannot be installed on this machine. MDAC 2.7 requires any one of the following configurations:

Win 98... ME, NT4 SP5, Win 2000

Setup will exit now. Please restart the setup after installing the necessary updates to this machine.


Checked MDAC, and 2.8 comes with .NET so you're going to have to change your checks for MDAC within install routine...
tosh
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 3:14 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby rgerhards » Mon Apr 14, 2003 1:21 pm

Just to clarify... It's a merge module that does these checks. We are using the latest release of InstallShield and we are currently trying to get some merge modules that support MDAC on .NET.... :(

Keep you updated...

Rainer Gerhards
Adiscon
rgerhards
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3807
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 11:57 am

Postby tosh » Tue Apr 15, 2003 5:28 pm

thanks
tosh
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 3:14 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby alorbach » Tue Apr 22, 2003 10:49 am

Hi,

I will take a look to that, and I will test the Installation on a .Net 2003 Server here. If I can reproduce the error, I will modify the installation in order to avoid that error. I will keep you informed tosh.
alorbach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 11:55 am

Postby tosh » Tue Apr 22, 2003 12:49 pm

thanks
tosh
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 3:14 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby alorbach » Thu Apr 24, 2003 1:29 pm

Hi Tosh,

I was able to reproduce thsi problem, and I was also able to correct the problem :D in the Installationset.

It was an MDAC module included, that did not know Windows .NET Server. This has been updated now, you can redownload the setup from the following link: http://www.adiscon.org/download/mwcon.exe

I have tested it under Windows 2003.Net Standard Server, and it worked flawless.
alorbach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 11:55 am

Postby tosh » Thu Apr 24, 2003 3:21 pm

thanks

will download now

also - have you got anywhere with the detailed events view? does it work for you - I still haven't been able to get it working...
tosh
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 3:14 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby alorbach » Thu Apr 24, 2003 3:37 pm

Hi,

could you please send me the database defintion of your SystemID Field? I just want to compare it.

Are you using the sample database which is installed by MWConsole?
alorbach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 11:55 am

Postby tosh » Thu Apr 24, 2003 4:49 pm

install done - works fine - and a new exe!

I've sent an email to mwconsole-feedback with the SQL error message, and here is my db definition for SystemID.

(and no I'm not using the sample access db, I'm using SQL Server with the default database, updated with the SQL scripts you kindly provided)

In my database, i have a table called Systems, where the SystemID column is located: here is the definition of the table:

SystemID int 4 (no nulls)
ShortDescription nvarchar 60 (nulls allowed)
LongDescription ntext 16 (nulls allowed)
upsize_ts timestamp 8 (nulls allowed)

(sorry about the formatting)

--Tosh
tosh
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 3:14 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby alorbach » Fri Apr 25, 2003 9:28 am

Hi Tosh,

sorry to ask something again, but how is this field definied in teh SystemEvents table?
alorbach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 11:55 am

Postby tosh » Mon Apr 28, 2003 11:54 am

Andre

There is no SystemID in the SystemEvents table.
There is a Systems table with SystemID and a Devices table with SystemID. Looking at the SQL code you provided to update the database, there is no inclusion of SystemID into the SystemEvents table:

MWDB_Devices.SQL

Code: Select all
if exists (select * from dbo.sysobjects where id = object_id(N'[dbo].[Devices]') and OBJECTPROPERTY(id, N'IsUserTable') = 1)
drop table [dbo].[Devices]
GO

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[Devices] (
   [DeviceID] [int] IDENTITY (1, 1) NOT NULL ,
   [SystemID] [int] NULL ,
   [DeviceReportedName] [nvarchar] (50) COLLATE Latin1_General_CI_AS NULL ,
   [DeviceAssignedName] [nvarchar] (50) COLLATE Latin1_General_CI_AS NULL ,
   [DeviceIPMain] [nvarchar] (50) COLLATE Latin1_General_CI_AS NULL ,
   [DeviceType] [int] NULL ,
   [ShortDescription] [nvarchar] (60) COLLATE Latin1_General_CI_AS NULL ,
   [LongDescription] [ntext] COLLATE Latin1_General_CI_AS NULL ,
   [Location] [nvarchar] (50) COLLATE Latin1_General_CI_AS NULL ,
   [DeviceTZ] [int] NULL ,
   [AdminName] [nvarchar] (50) COLLATE Latin1_General_CI_AS NULL ,
   [AdminOfficePhone] [nvarchar] (16) COLLATE Latin1_General_CI_AS NULL ,
   [AdminMobilePhone] [nvarchar] (16) COLLATE Latin1_General_CI_AS NULL ,
   [AdminHomePhone] [nvarchar] (50) COLLATE Latin1_General_CI_AS NULL ,
   [AdminEMail] [nvarchar] (50) COLLATE Latin1_General_CI_AS NULL ,
   [AdminPager] [nvarchar] (50) COLLATE Latin1_General_CI_AS NULL ,
   [Status] [int] NULL ,
   [AutoCreated] [int] NULL ,
   [DateCreated] [datetime] NULL ,
   [DateLastSeen] [datetime] NULL ,
   [DatePurchased] [datetime] NULL ,
   [DateRetired] [datetime] NULL ,
   [RecordStatus] [int] NULL ,
   [upsize_ts] [timestamp] NULL
) ON [PRIMARY] TEXTIMAGE_ON [PRIMARY]
GO


MWDB_Systems.SQL

Code: Select all
if exists (select * from dbo.sysobjects where id = object_id(N'[dbo].[Systems]') and OBJECTPROPERTY(id, N'IsUserTable') = 1)
drop table [dbo].[Systems]
GO

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[Systems] (
   [SystemID] [int] NOT NULL ,
   [ShortDescription] [nvarchar] (60) COLLATE Latin1_General_CI_AS NULL ,
   [LongDescription] [ntext] COLLATE Latin1_General_CI_AS NULL ,
   [upsize_ts] [timestamp] NULL
) ON [PRIMARY] TEXTIMAGE_ON [PRIMARY]
GO


Regards
tosh
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 3:14 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby alorbach » Mon Apr 28, 2003 12:01 pm

Hi,

interesting. Somehow the SystemID field is missing, and this at least explains the error.

Please try to add the SystemID field manually with the SQL Enterprise Manager if possible: SystemID] [int] NULL.

If you need further help with this, let me know. ;)
alorbach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 11:55 am

Google Ads


Next

Return to MonitorWare Console

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron